WORKandPLAY

June 22, 2009 at 12:19 pm | Posted in ahearne, bicycle | 2 Comments

As most of you already know, I’ve been taking some time off from sewing lately. One of the major things keeping me out from behind the sewing machine (aside from my other jobs, life, etc.) is this hot little number…

After waiting approx. a year and a half I am now the proud owner of my very own custom bicycle! Hand built here in Portland, Oregon by Joseph @Ahearne Cycles. One and a half years may seem like a long time to wait, and it is, but considering his current wait time (holding steady at a 3 1/2 years) I feel pretty fortunate to have placed my order when I did. I assure you he is worth the wait. Joseph is a master at his craft and as you can see, does amazing work, down to every last detail. 

 

 

 

Yes, it is an expensive venture buying a custom bicycle and I saved for a long time for mine. That being said, there is nothing like riding a custom bicycle. It is an absolute dream machine. Not to mention the satisfaction you get from supporting a local artisan craftsman, especially one like Joseph. I respect and admire him both as a builder and a friend. Worth the wait and every pretty penny! 

-Eli

P.S. I’ll update with more pictures soon I promise!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. make the colder holders taller for entire can and bottle coverage…also helps with being descrete…

    • meade,

      the reason i make just the one-size is because it works for both regular cans and tall boys. a taller one would work only for tall boys, which would be lame if you found yourself drinking out of small cans. but yeah, i agree, tall ones would also be cool!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

