DIY – Wood Porteur Box

February 20, 2008 at 6:01 pm | Posted in ahearne, bicycle, bikes, handbuilt, porteur, portland | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

When you can… do it yourself!

My dad helped me make this awesome wooden box. It’s made to sit perfectly on top of my front porteur rack… which it does. We built it out of Alder a little wood glue and lots of little brass screws.

It’s great for carrying things that you don’t want to shove in your bag and won’t work to toss directly on the front rack… like flowers and a homemade card… for your girlfriend… on your 3 year anniversary… yesterday. 🙂

Thanks for all the help (aka doing most of the work) on the box dad!

-Elias

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. more photos, please!

  2. Hey where do you buy wood like that?

  3. erica – i’ll see what i can do about the photos.

    doc – actually got the wood from home depot near my folks house.

  4. That is cool. How is it secured to the rack?

    I’d like to make one of these for my own bike. Would you be willing to share more pictures, plans, or construction details? Thanks.

  5. bungees! flat adjustable bungee cords to be exact. There are better ways I’m sure, but I use the rack without the box quite a bit as well and needed a simple easy-on, easy-off way to do it.

    construction wise, it’s a pretty straight forward box. be sure to pre drill the holes for your screws! Also, I added small pads to the bottom of the box to keep it from rattling on the rack.

  6. Hi,
    Clever box. Can a 12 pack of beer fit in it? I’m thinking of the box of 12 bottles. I’m looking for a good way to transport beer on my bike and noticed the other basket bag with beer in the photo.

    Karen

  7. Nice box. Wood complements the steel of bicycle well. What kind of porteur rack is it on?

    tadd

  8. Karen – yep! beer fits!

    Tadd – Thanks a lot. It’s a custom Ahearne rack. I snuck in my order right before he stopped making racks for bikes other than his own.

    I took a few close-ups right after I got it… check ’em out here.

  9. Solid internet site:D Hope to definitely come back again!!

  10. wowowowowowow this is rrrrrruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuubbbbbbbbbbbbbbish

  11. o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o- its a chain!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

