Lemolo Handlebar Bag

September 4, 2011 at 9:18 am | Posted in bicycle, handbuilt, Lemolo Bags | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I’d like to start off by saying that I don’t do much custom stuff anymore. Very rarely in fact does my busy schedule allow me to take on a fully custom project. I recently made a exception…

Bicycle handlebar bags have gained a lot of popularity it seems in the past couple of years. I tried my hand at making one for my friend Mitch (M.A.P. Bicycles) a few years ago (photos) which paired nicely with a set of small panniers I had also constructed for him. Pretty happy with how it turned out, but wasn’t ready to start producing at that time. I recently completed another. Sort of a last-minute project for my good friend and shopmate Jordan (Hufnagel Cycles). I could not have been more pleased with how the bag turned out. I’d like to, in time, have a very similar production model for sale. It will pair nicely with the improved Tool Roll (if we can ever manage to finish a second round).

As per Jordan’s request there is no leather on this bag. It is constructed mainly of waxed canvas and cotton webbing, with a bit of metal hardware here and there. A hand pounded Lemolo badge and custom hooks made by Jordan express, in my opinion, the simple and subtle hand-made elegance of the bag. This is a one-of-a-kind, enjoy…

I really really hope to have a production model similar to this bag in the future. It will take some time though. As always, feedback is welcomed.

-Elias

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Beautiful work on the handlebar bag, I like the choice of webbing and fabric, and the angled stitching on the ends of the tombstone sleeve/strap, a nice touch I’ve seen on old Sologne bags. The silver hardware is nice, I’ve had a heck of a time finding nice hooks. I completely agree with your choice about custom bags, it does take a very long time to construct one.
    -Elias Ruth Rodriguez

  2. nice made bag, nothing like it is ever to find when needed and the stuff theres out there dosnt hold for long and even √≠ts ekspensive. this one looks like something usable, it just maybe needs som straps inside for a cofee can and maybe indside pockets for ciggerettes ligther and mobile phone, then it will be uptodate :-) …. it looks good and i also like that its canvas, hope the bottum can be taken out so it can be put in the washing mashine…. nice idea….

    per nielsen, zity denmark..

  3. Looks like a lifetime bag! WIth craftsmanship like yours, who needs leather?

  4. Great work! I’d totally buy that! Make more please!

  5. Beauty. Nicely done, sir.

  6. Very well done. Canvas color and webbing go well together. Very hard to find leather free versions of these. I really hope you can get a production version together.

    If possible, velcro or buckle fastened straps on the bottom will allow fastening to top of small racks rather than to handlebar.

  7. Should I say perfect bag for a medical student like me? Most likely and lots of stuff I can put there. I would rather choose velcro straps since it is more reliable and strong.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

