work.

July 31, 2008 at 11:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Dear Friends,

I’m sure a lot of you know that I’ve stopped taking orders for the past few weeks. I have actually still been working this whole time trying to finish up my waiting list. Getting pretty close to that goal now! I am planning on coming back “on-line” soon. There will be a few changes when I do.

The first is price. I have been really struggling to make ends meet with the business in it’s current state. Not sure how many of you know this, but it has been a rather uprooting time for me lately. I have moved twice in the last 3 months and taken on another job. I now live in SE Portland just south of Powell and work 3+ days a week at a little coffee shop up on Mississippi Avenue in NE Portland. The new job has cut into time at the bag shop, but has also ensured that all my bills get paid on time. You do what you have to do to make ends meet.

There are more reasons why prices are going up. Cost and shipping are a couple of them. Everything seems to cost more these days. I do buy as much fabric and hardware as I can locally which cuts down on shipping costs but takes up my time. I am living car-free which means I pick up multiple (60″ wide) rolls of fabric with my bike and then ride them to the shop. Time = money… which makes sense because these days feel about half as long as when I was a kid. :-) Where does the time go?

A lot of myself goes into each bag I make. I try to combine colors together in interesting ways to create unique, stylish, very functional bags for everyday use. When you order a Lemolo bag you know the name of the person who put it all together. From the first few sketches of a new design, to picking up raw fabric, down to the last few stitches. That person is me, and my name is Elias.

I hope this has helped you all understand my position a little bit more. I am doing the best I can at the best possible price I can do it at. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

As of August 1, 2008 this is the new price list for all Lemolo Bags I am currently offering…

$325 – LARGE Backpack
$285 – Portland Backpack (coming soon!)
$250 – Heather Size Backpack
$85 – Basket Bag
$65 – Hip Pouch

Thanks for all the support you have all been giving me recently, and over the past couple years of bag making. Keep riding and keep smiling!

-Eli

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. I know just how you feel Elias…i just moved from one end of the country to the other after making some life changing decisions….i’ve been unable to work on bags for twelve weeks….i just started making bags again and i’m now playing catchup…and every bag i’ve been making is free…sponsoring a few things see.
    I’m now in debt again….but trying my best to make this bag thing work…i’ve got plenty of orders…but one man can only do so much…and i’d still like to keep it a one man show.
    So good luck with everything and good on you for not giving up.
    Keep sewing man!

    Scott not scot (Archie’s Grobags)

  2. Scott,

    Thanks for the comment. I hope things start looking up for both of us really soon! Good luck with playing catchup. Keep on keepin’ on man… one stitch at a time.

    -e

  3. Dude, you deserve to be compensated fairly for your efforts. You’re making super rad, functional and unique items that I think anyone in their right mind would love to have no matter how much you need to charge. I am still totally in love with both of my bags; they have some sort of simple timeless element to them that seems lost in most of the consumerist society we live in today. Here’s to hitting a new stride and doing what makes you happy no matter what else may come and go.

  4. Tim,

    Thanks so much man! All of this is directly dependent upon you and others like you. Thank you for all the support you have given me and continue to give me. Your positivity is helping me stay upbeat, motivated and excited for the future!

    -Eli

    P.S. Your picture is awesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

